Eastern Shuttle Chinatown Bus From Washington DC to New York: A Review

Updated on September 5, 2017
Source

Quest for a Cheap Mode of Transportation From NYC to DC

I recently started working in DC, but with my boyfriend, friends, and family in NYC, I found myself going up to the city that never sleeps nearly every weekend. I quickly realized that my weekly trips to and from New York could quickly burn my budget if I continued to use conventional modes of transportation such as car or train, so I needed another cheap alternative ASAP. Thankfully, I found the Chinatown bus.

I've taken several different low-cost buses between New York and Washington, DC since August, including the Eastern Shuttle, Mega Bus, Bolt, and the Washington Deluxe. Of these options, the Eastern Shuttle has become my bus of choice. Keep reading to find out the reason why, pros and cons of this bus service, and some tips.

The Chinatown bus arriving in Midtown
The Chinatown bus arriving in Midtown | Source

I give Eastern Shuttle's Service 5-stars

5 stars for Eastern Shuttle Chinatown Bus - NYC, DC

Eastern Shuttle Bus Pros and Cons

The Eastern Shuttle bus definitely differentiates itself based on low price, but another major selling point for me is the punctuality of the service. Below are some other positive aspects of using Easter Shuttle's services, as well as some not so positive things.

Advantages of Taking the Eastern Shuttle

  • Cheap rate. The Eastern Shuttle costs vary between $20 - $25 each way, depending on the day of the week and if it's a holiday. That's cheaper than other bus service providers and way cheaper than driving or taking the train.
  • Hourly departures during rush hour.
  • Priority is given to bus riders with bus reservations (and holding a printed out ticket).
  • Free wi-fi. There were a few occasions when the wi-fi was not functioning, but most of the time it is and it's pretty quick too.
  • You can buy a ticket at the office and if the next bus isn't full, you'll get on.
  • Conveniently located up the block from Gallery Place-Chinatown in DC (red, green, and yellow lines) and multiple subway lines in NYC.
  • Two drop off locations in Manhattan—one on 34th and 7th and another on Allen St. in Chinatown. I really prefer the Midtown location because it's more organized than the Chinatown location and there are no more stops in New York. The bus first stops in Chinatown and then makes its way up to Midtown to pick up passengers from there.
  • Decent customer service for a low-cost bus. I was stranded in New York after Hurricane Sandy hit. The bus company contacted me to notify me that the bus had been cancelled due to the weather, and asked me about when I would like to reschedule. I was able to reschedule for their first bus out of NY on Wednesday afternoon, when most other bus services were still not operating. However, a huge disadvantage is that when I attempted to call the customer service line numerous times to find out the status of the bus, nobody picked up.

Price Comparison for Roundtrip NY to DC Transportation

Transportation Mode
Price
Car
About $150 ($52.80 just on tolls + about $100 on gas @$.358 per gallon)
Amtrak
$98 (if booked 14 days in advance) - $250
Eastern Shuttle
$40 - $50

Disadvantages of the Eastern Shuttle Bus

  • 10 minute (or longer) breaks at a gas station. I suppose that bathroom/food break can be seen as a pro too but my objective is to get from A to B as quickly as possible so the stopover isn't welcome in my book. Other low-cost buses don't stop at gas stations.
  • Bus pick-up/drop-off at Baltimore. The bus stops at Baltimore, which extends the length of the trip by at least a half hour. Other low-cost buses don't make this stop.
  • No outlets on the bus. I got spoiled trying out other bus services and unfortunately the Eastern Shuttle doesn't have power plugs on board.
  • Particularly if you board the bus in Manhattan's Chinatown, people often push and shove to get on.

Have you taken the Eastern Shuttle between NY and DC?

See results

Tips for Taking the Eastern Shuttle Bus

Below are some tips I live by as I take the Eastern Shuttle weekly:

  • But your ticket at least a day in advance (especially for Friday or Sunday). Friday and Sunday buses sell out quick, so book your ticket as soon as you know you'll be traveling.
  • Print out your ticket. To board the Eastern Shuttle bus, you will need a printed ticket. If you don't have a printed ticket, you can print it out for $1 at the office but this will delay your boarding time.
  • Arrive at the bus stop at least 15 minutes before the scheduled leave time. One of the things I love most about the Eastern Shuttle is that it is punctual (unlike the other buses). Each time I've taken the Eastern Shuttle, the bus arrives before the scheduled time and leaves right on the dot, while the other low-cost buses are usually about half an hour late.

If you're looking for a luxurious ride between New York City and the District of Columbia, then the Eastern Shuttle is not for you. However, if you're looking to travel to and from the two cities cheaply, you should definitely consider the Eastern Shuttle bus.

Eastern Shuttle Bus Stops in NY

A
Eastern Shuttle's Chinatown Stop:
28 Allen St, New York, NY 10002, USA

get directions

B
Eastern Shuttle's Midtown Stop:
430 7th Ave, New York, NY 10001, USA

get directions

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • profile image

        Elroy 

        3 years ago

        Don't ride this bus...

        Over full. Rude passengers with chips on their shoulder. No designated seat. Bus arrived late, Driver doesn't speak English. Bus stanks of dirty Third world. No amount of Lysol would fix it.

        NEVER AGAIN

      • profile image

        Sergio Freddson 

        3 years ago

        Thank you for your review! I have been thinking of using this shuttle for a few weeks but haven't been able to tell whether or not it would be worth it. Thanks for breaking down all the benefits! It's nice that there are hourly departures and stuff. I'll definitely have to count this as a serious option! http://www.ak-ecabtaxi.com/Services/

      • profile image

        David H. 

        4 years ago

        Stay away. I took this bus from NYC to DC on 8/16/2014. NO TOILET PAPER IN LAVATORY. Bus was over an hour late. Neither the driver nor the expediter were anywhere to be found during the unloading of luggage, allowing someone to try to PICK MY POCKET as I bent over to get my bag. As I said about this company, STAY AWAY.

      • travel_man1971 profile image

        Ireno Alcala 

        5 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

        Bus travel services abound in my country, Philippines. Priority is given to passengers who bought their tickets a week early (with printout, too).

        If you're a 'chance passenger' you can sit on the vacant seat and enjoy the travel . Bus operators also added Wi-fi internet for interested passengers, just like in the USA.

        Yes, it's more cheaper when you travel by bus and oil companies are now promoting and selling the so-called 'green' fuel, less emmision of carbon monoxide.

        A great hub. Voted up and shared!

      • Global-Chica profile imageAUTHOR

        Anna 

        5 years ago from New York, NY

        Hey cclitgirl! Thanks for stopping by. Yes, not many people are aware of these "cheap" alternative buses. Thanks for pointing out that using buses - such as this service is not only cheap but is also a sustainable option. Great point!

      • cclitgirl profile image

        Cynthia Calhoun 

        5 years ago from Western NC

        Great review - I didn't even know this bus line existed and I believe we need more and more to help propel us to using less oil-dependent resources - buses can help with that. :)

      • Global-Chica profile imageAUTHOR

        Anna 

        5 years ago from New York, NY

        Thanks NMLady and agusfanani!

      • agusfanani profile image

        agusfanani 

        5 years ago from Indonesia

        A good, informative review.

      • NMLady profile image

        NMLady 

        5 years ago from New Mexico & Arizona

        This is good info. We have the Light Rail here......Phx.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, wanderwisdom.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://wanderwisdom.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)