B&B You and Me Review—Venice, Italy

Updated on September 12, 2017
bdegiulio profile image

Traveling has always been one of my passions. It exposes us to new cultures, experiences, and makes the world a better, more tolerant place.

Beautiful Venice
Beautiful Venice | Source

When looking for accommodations in Venice, one is presented with literally hundreds of options and it can be an overwhelming process to find a place that meets your needs and budget. After an extensive search that involved reading literally dozens of reviews, we stumbled upon the most wonderful little bed and breakfast located in the most convenient of locations. We stayed at B&B You and Me for four nights in September of 2012.

If you are looking for a room that is clean, comfortable, meticulously decorated in the Venetian style, and convenient to all of the major sites in Venice, then look no further. Bed and Breakfast You and Me is one of those hidden gems that when you find it you feel like you just hit the jackpot. Not only was this B&B everything we hoped for and beyond, but it didn’t break the bank. With rates that vary from 60 to 140 euro, depending on the season, this B&B is just a superb valve in an otherwise expensive Venice.

The Carmen Room
The Carmen Room | Source

B&B You and Me is owned by Stefania Spagnol who transformed the location from her former home into a destination. Now completely renovated to accommodate guests, the B&B has three beautiful rooms called Tosca, Mimi, and Carmen. The names are in honor of three very well-known heroines of the famous La Fenice opera house in Venice. Each room has a private en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, internet access, a safe, and satellite TV.

The Mimi Room
The Mimi Room | Source
The Tosca Room
The Tosca Room | Source

B&B You And Me also has a common room that is used to serve breakfast and there is a small kitchen that can be used by guests. Breakfast consists of a variety of cereals, pastries, yogurt, bread, fruit, and cookies. A variety of beverages are available including juices, bottled water, tea, and coffee.

The kitchen has a small stove that can be used if you so desire and a refrigerator that is constantly stocked. Stefania goes out of her way to let you know that you are welcome to stop by the B&B for snacks, drinks, and anything that is there throughout the day. This is a wonderful feature of this B&B and you will be surprised how much this saves you just in water alone while walking Venice.

Should you have a need to do laundry during your stay in Venice, there is also a laundry room, another great benefit to this wonderful B&B.

Don’t forget to grab a biscotti or two before you head out.

The Kitchen
The Kitchen | Source
The Breakfast Room
The Breakfast Room | Source

One of the most important things to me when traveling is the cleanliness of the place and this can make or ruin any vacation. B&B You and Me far exceeds any expectations in this respect.

The young man who cleans the site is hard working, takes great pride in his work, and is one of the most pleasant and friendly guys that you will meet in Venice. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels provided and the bathrooms are spotless.

Venice
Venice | Source

As the summer season in Venice can be very hot and humid it is important to consider air conditioning when selecting accommodations. B&B You and Me has this covered with well functioning units that will keep your room at your desired temperature. And if you are concerned with the outside noise level at night, which can be a very valid complaint in Venice, the B&B has the best windows and shutters available to keep your room nice and quiet. At no time during our four-night stay was noise a problem.

The view up to B&B You and Me
The view up to B&B You and Me | Source

Location can be very important when searching for accommodations in Venice and B&B You and Me has what I feel is the ideal location. The B&B is located on the second and third floor of a typical Venetian building about a ten-minute walk from the Rialto Bridge. From the B&B to San Marco Square is probably no more than a fifteen-minute walk. And if you are interested in seeing the morning outdoor market in Venice it is also no more than a five-minute walk away.

Of more importance is the fact that the B&B is located just five minutes from the San Silvestro waterbus stop. This is convenient because the vaporetto line1 stops here, which makes for an easy trip to and from the train station and Piazzale Roma where the buses and taxis come into Venice from the airport.

The San Silvestro waterbus stop is typically much less crowded than the Rialto station, which is just up and across the canal. The waterbuses may be crowded, this is Venice let’s remember, but you won’t be waiting in a line and fighting people to get on the waterbus from this station.

Luggage on wheels will help you get to and from you accommodations. Be sure to pack light when traveling to Venice.

Source

One last thing which may be of concern to you when traveling to Venice is the availability of an elevator to get to the upper floors of a building. Most buildings in Venice simply do not have an elevator and the age and design of many buildings prevents this. If you are traveling with large, heavy bags, this may be an issue for you. B&B You and Me does not have an elevator but please do not let this deter you from staying here. The best way to deal with this is to pack light, which is probably the best piece of advice I can give you when traveling to Italy.

The view from  B&B You and Me
The view from B&B You and Me | Source

Check the refrigerator before you retire for the evening, there may be a surprise waiting for you.

One of the things that separates this B&B from other places is the warmth and hospitality of the owner, Stefania. She is just so welcoming and is an absolute joy to deal with. The pride she takes in her B&B and her attention to detail are clearly evident. She is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to Venice as she grew up here and still resides in Venice. I don’t know how you can do any better in Venice. Enjoy your stay. Hopefully, you found this review helpful.

Ciao for now.

Venice

A
Venice, Italy:
Venice, Italy

get directions

Questions & Answers

    © 2012 Bill De Giulio

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        4 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Mona's Mas. Thank you. This B&B is a gem. The owner, Stefania, has thought of every detail to make this place a true home away from home. If you ever visit Venice, stay at B&B YouandMe, you will not regret it. Thanks so much for stopping by, have a great day.

      • Monis Mas profile image

        Aga 

        4 years ago

        I love your little "tips", very genuine. Fun hub!

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Thanks Suzie. You will enjoy this B&B when you get to Venice. Stefania is wonderful and thinks of everything. Venice can be very expensive so this was a great find. Many thanks as always for the support, share, pin, etc..

      • Suzie HQ profile image

        Suzanne Ridgeway 

        6 years ago from Dublin, Ireland

        Hi Bill,

        What a great hub for all visiting Venice to keep. When we go I am definitely checking this out, sounds like our sort of place and seems well located for walking around and water taxi spots. Accommodation is known to be expensive in Venice so this is a real find! Always good to have first hand experience to go by too! Great pics and info on an Italian B & B that ticks all the boxes! VU, all the rest, shared and pinned for future ref!!

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Jack. Welcome to HubPages and thanks for stopping by to read.

        Write about what you love, which sounds like traveling. Me too! Read hubs from other writers here to get a sense of what layout works and looks appealing. Try to include original pictures, maps, polls, etc., anything to help engage the reader. I will take a look at your first hub and leave you a comment on what I think, I'm sure it's a great read.

      • jackb3 profile image

        John Patrick Baumann 

        6 years ago from St. Louis

        Really like your blogs, descriptive and entertaining. I am trying to do the same type of thing with my travels around Europe. Would you have any suggestions for me?

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Carol. Really great to see you here. You are missed. This B&B was really something special. If you ever visit Venice try to book this place, you will not be disappointed. Thank you for stopping stopping. Hurry back.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Rajan. Many thanks for the nice comments and for taking the time to read. If you ever make it to Venice pay Stefania a visit, she has a wonderful B&B. Thank you for the vote, stars, etc....

      • carol7777 profile image

        carol stanley 

        6 years ago from Arizona

        i am still here to comment a bit especially for loyal followers. I particularly enjoyed this hub and I love all bed and breakfast places. Great pictures and always enjoy my virtual travel with you.

      • rajan jolly profile image

        Rajan Singh Jolly 

        6 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

        Wow Bill! What a fantastic and awesome review! Fantastic layout and very well written. I surely would wish to stay here if I happen to visit Venice. B & B looks just as homely as one's own home. Voted up, useful and awesome. 5 stars for you my friend. Sharing this hub.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Gail. Thanks so much for visiting. We had a wonderful stay in Venice. Appreciate the vote, etc.

      • Happyboomernurse profile image

        Gail Sobotkin 

        6 years ago from South Carolina

        Loved the photos and the review itself which was very comprehensive and hit all the important things that a tourist needs to know.

        I enjoyed this cyber visit.

        Voted up across the board except for funny.

        Good luck in the Rigorous Review Contest.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Crystal. Thank You. I'm ready to go back! By the way, did you see the news from news from Venice on the flooding? That's why we go in September.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Abby. Thanks for stopping by. Hopefully you get to Venice someday soon. There is no other place quite like it. Very much appreciate the visit, have a great day.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Peggy. If you do make it to Venice someday do consider staying at B&B You and Me. It really is that good. Many thanks for the vote, share, etc..

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Thanks Bill. Until you suggested I enter the Review Contest I had not considered writing reviews of the places we have stayed so thank you. This place in Venice and the Masseria Quartarella were both outstanding. Many thanks again for the support.

      • Crystal Tatum profile image

        Crystal Tatum 

        6 years ago from Georgia

        Good review. I'm ready to visit! Voted up.

      • abbyw1989 profile image

        Abby 

        6 years ago from Ireland

        Great review - I hope someday to visit the lovely Stephania Spagnol and her wonderful B&B. Thanks for sharing

      • Peggy W profile image

        Peggy Woods 

        6 years ago from Houston, Texas

        What a terrific review of a B & B in Venice that I can only hope of dreaming to stay someday. Each of the 3 rooms looks appealing and from what you say the hospitality is truly genuine making each guest feel really special. Will keep it in mind if our travels ever take us that direction. Up votes and another 5 stars! Sharing!

      • billybuc profile image

        Bill Holland 

        6 years ago from Olympia, WA

        And yet one more place to add to my bucket list. At this rate, I might empty that list by the time I am 140 yrs old. :) Great review as always; I sure hope you win one of these contests.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        6 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Sandra. Yes, as I was writing this earlier today I was watching the flooding in Venice. Wow is right. If we've met the same Stephania Spagnol she is a sweetheart. She was just so hospitable, a delight to deal with.

        Thanks so much for stopping by, the vote and share.

      • sandrabusby profile image

        Sandra Busby 

        6 years ago from Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

        How timely your hub is. Did you see Venice 3/4 flooded and the Piazza San Marco waist deep in water on the news today. WOW. Anyway, I loved your photos. I think I met Signora Stephania Spagnol in Florence once, several years ago and visited a B&B she and her husband operate just outside Florence. If it was the same person, she is truly a delightful hostess. Voted up and shared.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, wanderwisdom.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://wanderwisdom.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)