Review of Relais San Lorenzo B&B in Lucca, Italy

Updated on December 4, 2017
bdegiulio profile image

Traveling has always been one of my passions. It exposes us to new cultures, experiences, and makes the world a better, more tolerant place.

Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo | Source

There is always a fair amount of uncertainty when it comes to booking accommodations when traveling abroad. You can read all the reviews you want, look at countless pictures, and still end up being disappointed. That is why when we find a truly exceptional place at a fair price, I feel compelled to write about it. We found just such a place recently, located in the heart of historic Lucca. Relais San Lorenzo B&B, owned and operated by host Daniela and her son Michele, do everything right to make your stay a memorable one.

Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo | Source

Located in the restored fifteenth century Orsucci palace, Relais San Lorenzo has five rooms, all renovated in the typical Tuscan style. Each room is tastefully decorated and has a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, mini-frig with cold drinks for your use, color television, and internet connection. The rooms are large, clean, and quiet. One room does have a small balcony while another has access to a large terrace overlooking the courtyard. There is a large common room with ample seating where breakfast is served daily. The rooms are on the second floor of the historic Orsucci palace, and the building has a center courtyard, which would appear to accommodate parking if you come to Lucca with a vehicle. For those with mobility issues please note that there is no elevator, but help with your bags will be arranged if needed.

Relais San Lorenzo is centrally located on a rather quiet street in historic Lucca close to the Anfiteatro and Piazza San Michele. There are plenty of excellent restaurants close by including one in the same building, Locando di Bacca, which we did try and was exceptional. Really, everything inside Lucca’s massive walls is within easy walking distance of San Lorenzo, and the train station, which is located just outside the wall is only about a twelve minute walk.

Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo | Source

Of particular interest to those considering a stay at Relais San Lorenzo is the interesting and informative Domus Romana Lucca Museum, which is located in the basement of the palace. The museum contains the remains of an ancient Roman home and portico, and was discovered in 2012 during renovations to the building. It offers a fascinating look at ancient roman life in Lucca, and the cost to enter is only a few euros. Definitely worth a visit.

Entrance to Relais San Lorenzo and Domus Romana Lucca Museum
Entrance to Relais San Lorenzo and Domus Romana Lucca Museum | Source
Domus Romana Lucca Museum
Domus Romana Lucca Museum | Source

One of the things that separates Relais San Lorenzo from other establishments and makes it so special is the attention to detail that host Daniela puts into everything she does. One walk around the B&B and this will become clearly evident. You will certainly feel like you are staying in a palace. Daniela is also a wealth of knowledge when it comes to Lucca, and her B&B sets a very high standard for what guests should expect when traveling.

Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo | Source

Now on to the wonderful breakfast served daily from 8:30am to 10:30am. I can guarantee that you will not leave hungry after sampling the wonderful assortment that Daniela puts out every morning. When traveling I like to eat a solid breakfast and then find something quick and easy for lunch, so breakfast is very important to me when looking for accommodations. The assortment of breads, pastries, pizza, cookies and jams that Daniela offers is amazing, and this is just the start. There is also yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, a variety of juices, coffee, tea, and she will even make you eggs served just the way you want them. Daniela really goes out of her way to be attentive to the needs of her quests, and honestly she was a joy to converse with every morning.

Tip: Our favorite pizza place was Pizzeria da Felice. It’s located just a few minutes from Relais San Lorenzo and is a great place to grab a quick slice for lunch while touring Lucca.

Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo | Source
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo | Source
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo | Source

Another surprise awaits you after a long day of exploring Lucca when you return to Relais San Lorenzo each evening. Daniela leaves out a decanter of cognac in the common room should anyone fancy a nightcap before retiring. Even if this is not your thing, it’s one more personal touch that helps separate San Lorenzo from the rest of the pack. And be sure to utilize the mini-frig in your room, the cold drinks are for your enjoyment at no extra cost and they are replenished daily. No nickle and diming patrons here. This may seem minor, but grabbing a cold water to take with you as you head out the door for a day of touring is not something that many establishments do.

Source

As with any hotel, Bed and Breakfast, or other accommodation, the rates will vary by season. We visited Lucca in early September and the price of 135 euros was very reasonable and fair. Rates for the rooms with a balcony will be slightly higher.

My experience in traveling all over Italy has been that accommodations are generally on the smaller side, especially the bathrooms and showers. Prices vary widely and what you see in photos is not always what you get. Rest assured, San Lorenzo is the real deal. There are no surprises, cleverly cropped photos, or misleading information. Read the TripAdvisor, Hotels.com, or Expedia reviews and I think you will get the message. By the way, we discussed TripAdvisor with Daniela one morning and she told us that she pays no attention to it. She knows what visitors expect, and she executes and delivers with precision. I wonder if Daniela is even aware that Relais San Lorenzo was designated a 2017 Certificate of Excellence by TripAdvisor?

Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo | Source

The true final grading of any hotel or B&B is the answer to one of the following questions. Would I stay here again if I ever returned, and would I recommend the place to friends and family? To that I can give a resounding yes. Daniela’s warm and welcoming personality perfectly complements this amazing Bed & Breakfast, and I would not hesitate to highly recommend Relais San Lorenzo to anyone visiting Lucca or the surrounding area.

Ciao for now.

A
Relais San Lorenzo, Lucca, IT:
Via Cesare Battisti, 15, 55100 Lucca LU, Italy

get directions

A
Lucca, IT:
55100 Lucca, Province of Lucca, Italy

get directions

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        9 months ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Claire. If you visit Lucca definitely consider Relais San Lorenzo. This place was amazing.

      • Claire-louise profile image

        Claire Raymond 

        9 months ago from UK

        Wow! That's a world away from B and B's in the UK, so stunning!

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Heidi. Thank you. Didn’t think about it that way but you are correct. Get up, have a leisurely breakfast, tour the museum, then have dinner in the restaurant located in the building. You could spend one day just in the Orsucci Palace. Glad you enjoyed the tour, have a great day.

      • heidithorne profile image

        Heidi Thorne 

        10 months ago from Chicago Area

        That looks like a destination in itself! Definitely not your usual hotel. Adding it to the "someday when I get there" list. Thanks for always sharing these wonderful places and your photos with us!

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Thanks Flourish. It really is the details that separate this place from the competition. Daniela clearly gets this. Thanks again, have a great weekend.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Linda, thank you. I would definitely stay here again if we were to ever return to Lucca. Really a special place. Have a nice weekend.

      • FlourishAnyway profile image

        FlourishAnyway 

        10 months ago from USA

        Details matter and it seems like she’s there to please her guests. I’d love to visit based on your review.

      • AliciaC profile image

        Linda Crampton 

        10 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

        If I ever visit Lucca, I will definitely consider staying in the establishment that you describe. It looks like a lovely place. Thanks for sharing the review, Bill.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Mary. It really is the little things. A cold drink, a nightcap, a friendly greeting at breakfast. Daniela really does pay attention to the details, and that is why her B&B is a clear winner. Thanks for stopping by, have a great weekend.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Bill. Thank you. It’s been a busy couple of months. First out to Seattle for a week, and then to Italy for two weeks. It’s actually good to be home. Have a wonderful weekend.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Mary. Daniela really has found the recipe for success. And it’s really all about listening to what visitors want and executing. Something as simple as offering your guests a cold drink at no cost is so simple, and yet it is rare to find.

        Even more rare is finding Pizza for breakfast. At first I thought it odd but I did try it and it was great. Hey, when in Italy do as the Italians do. Thanks again, have a nice weekend.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Thanks Kristen. Lucca really was wonderful as I’m sure your brother and family can attest to. So nice to see you here again, have a great weekend.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Thank you Terry. We have been to some amazing places and have some great memories. Looking forward to many more.

      • aesta1 profile image

        Mary Norton 

        10 months ago from Ontario, Canada

        That decanter of cognac is indeed a nice touch. What differentiates hotels really is the attention to detail in making the guests stay enjoyable.

      • billybuc profile image

        Bill Holland 

        10 months ago from Olympia, WA

        As I've said before, Bill, the only way I'm going to see these places is with your help, so thanks again for letting me stow away in your luggage for a great trip. Have a great weekend!

      • Blond Logic profile image

        Mary Wickison 

        10 months ago from Brazil

        It sounds like Daniela has brought back hospitality. So many B&Bs and hotels have forgotten how to make people feel welcome.

        I love the idea of having a no-cost mini fridge in the room.

        Something I had to read twice was pizza for breakfast!

        It sounds like an ideal place to stay and I'm glad you enjoyed it.

      • Kristen Howe profile image

        Kristen Howe 

        10 months ago from Northeast Ohio

        Bill, it's been a long while since I visited your travelogue hubs. This sounds like a great place to visit on a trip to Italy. My brother, sister-in-law-to-be and her two sons, went to Lucca a year ago this month around Christmas, in part of their European vacation, when they explored Italy (and also went to Munich.) Fantastic hub.

      • profile image

        Terry DeGiulio 

        10 months ago

        Yet another great article Bill. And, yes, yet another great trip I am blessed to be apart of!!! Relais San Lorenzo was truly one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Memories, sweet memories... Thank you Daniela and Michele!!

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Thank you Louise. We really enjoyed our visit to Lucca and our stay at Relais San Lorenzo made our visit that much more enjoyable. If you ever get the opportunity to visit you will love it. Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        10 months ago from Massachusetts

        Thank you Peggy. This place was a great find and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lucca was so interesting, we really enjoyed it’s history and unique architecture. Have a great weekend.

      • Coffeequeeen profile image

        Louise Powles 

        10 months ago from Norfolk, England

        It sounds like you had a wonderful time in Lucca. I have never visited Italy, but would love to some day. The B & B you stayed in sounds wonderful. I'm tempted to visit here now. Thankyou!

      • Peggy W profile image

        Peggy Woods 

        10 months ago from Houston, Texas

        Staying in a palace with a museum of archeological significance below it mixed with the charm of a well run B & B is a wonderful combination. Thanks for the recommendation. Relais San Lorenzo looks like it deserves that award by TripAdvisor. I enjoyed your photos of the place as well as your descriptions.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, wanderwisdom.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://wanderwisdom.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)