The Charming New Orient Hotel in Paris

Updated on September 18, 2017
bdegiulio profile image

Traveling has always been one of my passions. It exposes us to new cultures, experiences, and makes the world a better, more tolerant place.

I don’t often write reviews of our travel accommodations. When I do, it’s usually a bed & breakfast, agriturismo, or some other non-hotel type of accommodation. Our recent visit to France, however, provided me with a couple of exceptional and noteworthy places that deserve some accolades. In actuality, we do a fair amount of research and planning prior to traveling. The research often pays off as we have stayed in some absolutely wonderful places in our travels. This time around, we found ourselves in the heart of the 8th district in Paris at the charming New Orient Hotel.

New Orient Hotel
New Orient Hotel | Source

So what is it that makes the New Orient Hotel so exceptional? Well, it’s really everything and then some. The "then some" is the very attentive and helpful staff, owners Catherine and Josef Wehrle, and the delightful evening staff. The Wehrles, having owned the New Orient Hotel for twenty years now, have discovered the recipe for success. It really comes down to the things that make travelers happy: a clean and well-maintained room, a safe and attractive area, a knowledgeable and helpful staff, a fair and reasonable rate, and easy access to the sites of the area. The New Orient Hotel hits a home run on all of these.

Rooms

By any standard, the rooms in Paris are generally considered to be on the smaller side. I would say that our room (307) at the New Orient Hotel was a pretty good size when compared to the standard. We never felt like we were living out of a closet. The bathrooms were roomy and we had a tub with a spacious shower and good water pressure, which was nice. All of the rooms that face the Rue Constantinople have a small balcony with a table, two chairs, and those beautiful red geraniums. We also enjoyed the opportunity to sit outside. The quiet street means there is very little in the way of noise to worry about. If you are visiting Paris during the summer months, the hotel is entirely air-conditioned and there is also very fast Wi-Fi service available to guests. All rooms also have a wall-mounted flat panel television as well as a handy safe for locking up valuables.

Hotel New Orient
Hotel New Orient | Source

Your thoughts on Paris?

See results

The New Orient Hotel has five floors and there is a convenient elevator for getting luggage and guests to the upper floors. The hotel lobby is a comfy spot to sit and wait for friends, with plenty of reading material on the sites of Paris. A handy map of the city and the metro is available to guests. This was very much appreciated each morning before heading out. If there is any doubt about where you are heading or the best way to get there, Catherine, or the staff, will be more than happy to assist you and point you in the right direction. I can’t say enough about the owners and their willingness to go the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one.

New Orient Hotel
New Orient Hotel | Source

Also located on the first floor, is the breakfast room. We did opt for breakfast at the New Orient Hotel during our stay. It seems to be a common feature throughout Paris to offer this option. While it might be a little pricey at 13 euro, breakfast seemed to be the standard price at other comparable hotels that we checked out. But, I will say, the breakfast was delightful. Each morning consisted of fruit, croissants, breads, jams, meats, cheeses, cereals, and an assortment of beverages. It was nice to know that the option of breakfast was there, but if you decide to venture out on your own, there are plenty of cafes and bakeries nearby.

Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room | Source

Area

The New Orient Hotel is located in the 8th Arrondissement or district of Paris. Located on the right bank of the River Seine, the 8th district is known mainly as one of Paris’s business districts. You will find Rue Constantinople to be a comparably quiet neighborhood without the hordes of tourists and with a minimal amount of city traffic. There is a market located directly across the street from the hotel and just around the corner is our favorite Parisian Bistro, Le Coin, a simply marvelous place. New Orient Hotel is located just a few blocks from the Gare Saint Lazare Station. The Villiers and Europe Metro Stations are just a short walk, which makes this a very convenient location. If you are arriving into Paris at the Saint Lazare Train Station you could walk to New Orient if you travel lightly, but if you opt for a taxi, the fare will run you just a few euros.

The nearby Paris Opera House
The nearby Paris Opera House | Source

From Hotel New Orient it is possible to walk to the Montmartre area for a visit to Sacra Cour, the Opera House, the Arc de Triomphe, La Madeleine Church, and of course, the Champs-Elysees. All of the other wonderful attractions of Paris are walkable, but also an easy metro ride away. Expect a 45-minute walk from New Orient Hotel to the Eiffel Tower, about a 30-minute stroll to the Louvre, and approximately 50-minutes to Notre Dame. When visiting Paris, don’t be afraid to utilize its great public transportation system as Paris is a large city. The metro is an efficient and clean method of travel, and there are numerous bus routes that will take visitors to pretty much any destination within the city if you prefer to ride above ground.

Hotel Lobby
Hotel Lobby | Source

Rates

The peak season rates for New Orient Hotel range from 135 euro for a single room up to about 220 euro for a triple. The average double room rate is about 175 euro, which is pretty reasonable for Paris. When booking, look for any promotional offers on their website, which they run periodically. Keep in mind that the shoulder and off-seasonn rates drop considerably. The advertised rate for a double room with shower for the November to December time frame is just 125 euro.

The Haussmann style refers to Baron Haussmann, the city planner who created the building style that is widely seen in Paris today. Haussmann style buildings are typically made of cut stone and are from five to seven floors. Many of these buildings were constructed in the mid to late 19th century and retain their original charm with wood floors, fireplaces, and decorative ceilings.

View from Room 307
View from Room 307 | Source

As a general rule, accommodations in Paris are considered to be quite expensive. Hotel rates can easily climb to 250 to 400 euro or more per night so you will want to do your homework before committing. If you are looking for a charming boutique hotel in the Haussmann style then, by all means, the New Orient Hotel should be given serious consideration. It's clean, comfortable, in a safe and convenient area, has reasonable rates, and has the friendliest staff you will find in Paris

I hope you enjoyed this review of one of Paris’s hidden gems. The New Orient Hotel exceeded all of our expectations, and we look forward to returning to the "City of Lights" and our new friends at the New Orient Hotel.

Au revoir

A
New Orient Hotel, rue Constantinople, Paris:
Constantinople Street, 75008 Paris, France

get directions

B
Eiffel Tower:
Eiffel Tower, Champ de Mars, 5 Anatole France Avenue, 75007 Paris, France

get directions

C
Louvre Museum:
Louvre Museum, 75001 Paris, France

get directions

D
Sacre Cour:
Sacré-Cœur, 35 Chevalier de la Barre Street, 75018 Paris, France

get directions

Questions & Answers

    © 2014 Bill De Giulio

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        3 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Flourish. With this being our first trip to Paris we were worried about our accommodations despite all of the upfront research we did. Howver, New Orient worked out great. It turned out to be a home run. Thanks so much for the pin, visit, etc. Have a great week.

      • FlourishAnyway profile image

        FlourishAnyway 

        3 years ago from USA

        Bill, I'm pinning this to my France board so I can come back to it! I just know I'll be Paris-bound again in the next few years. Sounds like a beautiful place. We had some hits and some OMG misses for some of the places we stayed.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        3 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Suzette. Thank you. We thought New Orient was a pretty good find for Paris. If we ever return to Paris, which is likely someday we'll most certainly return to New Orient. Thanks so much for stopping by. Have a great week.

      • suzettenaples profile image

        Suzette Walker 

        3 years ago from Taos, NM

        Thanks for sharing this lovely hotel with us. And it is so reasonably priced for Paris. What a find! Your photos are beautiful and thanks for the map. I keep saying next time . . . . .. LOL! I love Paris and this would be the perfect place to stay.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        3 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Dianna. Thank you. This really was a wonderful place to stay. Great location and wonderful couple that owned the hotel. Thanks for stopping by, have a great day.

      • teaches12345 profile image

        Dianna Mendez 

        3 years ago

        The photos are so inviting and I only wish I could be there now. I love all the flowers draped on the balcony/windows. How lovely it would be to have these greet you every morning. Thanks for sharing from your experience.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        3 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Linda. Thank you. We really enjoyed the New Orient Hotel and Paris in general. I hope you get there soon. Many thanks. Have a wonderful week.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        3 years ago from Massachusetts

        Hi Dip Mtra. Thank you. You will not be disappointed, very nice hotel in a convenient and safe area. Have a great day.

      • AliciaC profile image

        Linda Crampton 

        3 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        This sounds like a lovely hotel, Bill. It looks very attractive. The location is very convenient, too. If I'm ever able to go to France I'll keep this great review in mind.

      • Dip Mtra profile image

        Dip Mtra 

        3 years ago from World Citizen

        We will try this place next time we are there. Very nice review. Thanks.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        3 years ago from Massachusetts

        Thanks Mary Beth. We lucked out in finding this place. We hope to get an opportunity to visit Paris again someday also.

      • mbgphoto profile image

        Mary Beth Granger 

        3 years ago from O'Fallon, Missouri, USA

        This sounds great...I will keep it in mind if we are able to visit Paris again someday.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        3 years ago from Massachusetts

        Thank you breakfastpop. This place was classic French charm. Wonderful hotel with a wonderful staff. We look forward to returning someday. Have a great day.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        3 years ago from Massachusetts

        Thanks Bill. I'm pretty confident that someday you'll get that big book deal. God knows you've paid your dues and have the writing talent. Have a great Sunday.

      • breakfastpop profile image

        breakfastpop 

        3 years ago

        What a charming hotel! I have been to Paris and I love this city. If I go again, I will definitely look into this little gem.

      • billybuc profile image

        Bill Holland 

        3 years ago from Olympia, WA

        You are the next best thing to actually being there, Bill. It's nice to read an article from someone who has actually been there. Thanks for the recommendation....some day, right? All I need is to sell a book...no sweat. LOL Happy Sunday buddy.

      • bdegiulio profile imageAUTHOR

        Bill De Giulio 

        3 years ago from Massachusetts

        Thank you jjexon, glad you enjoyed the hub. Have a great day.

      • jjexon profile image

        jjexon 

        3 years ago

        nice

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, wanderwisdom.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://wanderwisdom.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)